top of page
Top of Page

Senior Management Team

Bio coming soon!
Chief of Staff Terry Wright
Telephone: 919 496 2186 ext 4304

Prior to joining the Sheriff's OfficeTerry served as the Director of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety Private Protective Services Section.  As the Director, he was responsible for the overall operation of the agency and for the administration and enforcement of the Private Protective Services Act and the Alarm Systems Licensing Act.  Terry oversaw the planning, organizing, administrative, budgetary, personnel, investigative, and enforcement activities of the agency. 


Terry has 15 years of law enforcement experience with the North Carolina State University Campus Police Department, including specialized training in investigations and management.  While at NCSU’s Campus Police Department, he served as a Police Officer, Detective, Chief Investigator, Director of Patrol Operations, Assistant Chief and Interim Chief.  


As Chief of Staff, Terry is responsible for the management oversight of all Units at the Sheriff's Office.

Terry holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Criminal Justice Administration and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from North Carolina Wesleyan College. 

Terry has been awarded his Advanced Law Enforcement Certification from the North Carolina Department of Justice's Criminal Justice Education & Training Standards Commission and is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Institute of Government Law Enforcement Executive Management program.  Terry is from Bunn, where he lives with his wife and family.

Major Jarrett Umstead Criminal Investigations Division Commander
Telephone: 919 340 4307


Major Jarrett Umstead is the Commander of the Criminal Investigative Division (CID) of the FCSO. This division comprises of a number of technical units:  Criminal Investigations, Domestic Violence Taskforce, Narcotics, CCBI, Computer Forensics’ and ICAC Taskforce (Internet Crimes Against Children). 

Prior to joining the Sheriff’s Command team, Major Umstead served as Police Chief for the Lake Royale community for twelve years where he implemented many positive policy and operational changes. Major Umstead is a recent graduate of the FBI LEEDA course, and has been task with overhauling the operational effectiveness of the CID division under his command. Major Umstead has extensive leadership and management experience. He also served in the United States Navy and Army Reserves.

Major of Patrol:
Bio coming soon! 


Major Avery Wilson (Detention Center Administrator) 
Telephone: 919 340 4326


Major Wilson serves as the Detention Center Administrator, where he has been employed since 1999.  He began his career as a Detention Officer in 1995, having previously served as a Detention Officer in Warren and Vance Counties.  He has extensive experience and training in several areas, including Management and Leadership, Ethical Leadership and Gang Training.

Kevin 2.jpg
Captain Kevin White (Special Operations)
Telephone: 919 340 4315

Captain White currently serves as Special Operation Commander.  His previous assignments include Domestic Violence, Patrol Division, Civil, Investigations, and Sexual Assault Investigator.  He is also a General Instructor, Specialized Firearms Instructor, Rapid Deployment Instructor, Concealed Carry Instructor, and Force on Force Instructor.  He teaches these and other subjects in Vance Granville Community College's Basic Law Enforcement Program. 

Captain White has been involved with the FCSO's Special Response Team since 2002. He is a avid shooter, and enjoys spending time with his family in many outdoor activities. 

Lieutenant Keith Alston (Patrol Division)
Telephone: 919 340 4370

Lt. Alston assists with the daily operations of the Patrol Division. Under his command are Patrol Deputies, School Resource Officers (SRO's), Civil Division and Courthouse Security.

Lt. Alston graduated from Winston-Salem State University with a bachelor’s degree in Sports Management. He began his career with the Sheriff’s Office as a patrol deputy in August 2010. Lt. Alston has worked his way to his current position by previously serving as a Corporal, Patrol Sergeant, and Investigator with the Criminal Investigation Division. Lt. Alston has obtained his Advanced Law Enforcement Certification from the North Carolina Department of Justice, Sheriffs' Standards Division.

Lieutenant Kyle Horton (Lead School Resource Officer)
Telephone: 919 496 2600, ext 229


Lt. Kyle Horton began his career with the Sheriffs' Office as a patrol Deputy. He has served as a School Resource Officer and was promoted to Sergeant overseeing the School Resource Officers on December 1, 2014 then promoted to Lieutenant on July 1, 2019. Working closely to support the school principals, Lt. Horton and his team of SROs strive to provide the safest environment possible for our children. Lt. Horton earned his Bachelor's degree in Justice Studies from North Carolina Wesleyan College. Lt. Horton has also been awarded his Advanced Law Enforcement Certification from the NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission.

Management Team

Sergeant Bryan Gupton (Civil Division)
Telephone: 919 340 4317


Sgt. Bryan Gupton began his law enforcement career in 1999 with the Louisburg Police Department.  In 2001, he joined the Franklin County Sheriff’s Office where he was assigned to work in the Civil Division as a Deputy.  Excelling in his duties, he was quickly promoted to Corporal and then Sergeant.  As Sergeant he is responsible for the daily supervision of the Civil Division, consisting of six Civil Deputies that handle all Civil Process matters for Franklin County. 


Sgt. Gupton earned his Associate's degree in Criminal Justice in 1998 from Vance Granville Community College, and has been awarded his Advanced Certification by the North Carolina Sheriff's Education and Training Standards. 

Quartermaster Sergeant Deney Buchanan
Telephone: 919 340 4321

Sergeant Deney Buchanan started his law enforcement career in 2007 at the Franklin County Sheriff's Office as a deputy and was promoted to Corporal on patrol. After 7 years, Sgt Buchanan was assigned to the Civil Division as Corporal overseeing evictions. In 2018, Deney Buchanan was promoted to Quartermaster Staff Sergeant responsible for overseeing fleet management, inventory, and equipment procurement.  

Administration Team

Office Manager Jackie Person
Telephone: 919 340 4305


Born and raised in Franklin County, Jackie has been with the FCSO for over 18 years.  Starting her career as an administration assistant, Jackie now overseas the daily operations of the administration staff, and is focused on ensuring that the public interaction with the administration staff is a positive one. 

Detention Management Team

Detention Administrative Assistant La’Shaunda Jones
Telephone: 919 340 4333


La’Shaunda brings extensive administrative and customer service experience to the Franklin County Sheriff's Office.  Her contributions to the communications and administrative functions of the Detention Facility support its efficient and safe operation. 


La’Shaunda enjoys her job and serving the citizens of Franklin County.  She is a lifetime resident of the county and an avid community volunteer.  She also enjoys spending time with her husband and step-son.

Maintenance Team

Mr. Harry Dupree
Telephone: 919 496 2186


Harry Dupree joined the maintenance team two years ago, having worked for 40 years as a plumbing, heating, electrical, and refrigeration technician. Harry maintains his certifications in these professions. Harry is a lifelong resident of Franklin County and has been married to Joyce for seven years.

bottom of page